Philippe Marcus

Pr. Philippe Marcus is Director of Research at CNRS (Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) and Head of the Research Group of Physical Chemistry of Surfaces of Institut de Recherche de Chimie Paris, Ecole Nationale Supérieure de Chimie de Paris, Chimie ParisTech, France. Dr Marcus received his Ph. D. (1979) in Physical Sciences from University Pierre and Marie Curie, Paris, France.

His field of research is surface chemistry, surface electrochemistry, and corrosion science, with emphasis on the understanding of the structure and properties of metal and alloy surfaces and thin oxide layers. His research interests include the growth mechanisms and structure of oxide layers on metals and alloys in gaseous and aqueous environments, adsorption of inorganic, organic and biomolecules, the mechanisms of corrosion of metals and alloys at the nanoscale, passivity, passivity breakdown and localized corrosion, initial stages of high temperature oxidation, and the applications of advanced surface analytical methods such as X-ray Photoelectron Spectroscopy, Scanning Tunnelling Microscopy and Spectroscopy, and Time-of-Flight Secondary Ions Mass Spectrometry. 

Pr. Marcus has published over 500 papers in scientific journals, books and conference proceedings in the areas of surface chemistry and electrochemistry, surface analysis, corrosion science, and materials science,  plus three books “Corrosion Mechanisms in Theory and Practice”, “Analytical Methods in Corrosion Science and Engineering”, and “Molecular Modeling of Corrosion Processes”. His h-index is 79, and number of citations 21553 (source: Google Scholar, October 2021). He has given over 140 invited lectures at International Conferences. He serves or served on the editorial board of six major journals in Electrochemistry and Corrosion: Electrochimica Acta, Corrosion Science, Materials and Corrosion, Corrosion Engineering, Science, and Technology, Corrosion Reviews, and Nature Partner Journal Materials Degradation. Pr. Marcus has received a number of awards and honors, including the 2005 Uhlig Award from the Electrochemical Society, the 2008 Whitney Award from NACE International, the Cavallaro Medal of the European Federation of Corrosion in 2008, the U.R. Evans Award of the UK Institute of Corrosion in 2010, the Lee Hsun Award of the Institute of Metals Research of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 2012. He was the D.B. Robinson Distinguished Speaker of the University of Alberta, Edmonton, Canada in 2013. He was awarded the European Corrosion Medal from the European Federation of Corrosion in 2015, and the Olin Palladium Award from the Electrochemical Society (USA) in 2017. He was awarded an ERC Advanced Grant in 2016. He is an elected Fellow of the Electrochemical Society (2005) and of the International Society of Electrochemistry (2009).

Pr Marcus organised or co-organised several international conferences. He was the Chairman of ECASIA (the European Conference on Applications of Surface and Interface Analysis, Avignon (F), 2001), EUROCORR (the European Corrosion Conference, Nice (F), 2004) and Passivity-9 (the 9th International Conference on the Passivation of Metals and Semiconductors and the Properties of Thin Oxide Layers, Paris (F), 2005). In 2006 he was the Chair of the Gordon Research Conference on Aqueous Corrosion (New London, NH, USA). He was the Chair of EUROCORR in 2009, and of EMNT (International Symposium on Electrochemical Micro and Nanosystems Technologies) in 2010. He was the Chair of EUROCORR  2016 and ECASIA’17.

Pr. Marcus was President of the European Federation of Corrosion from 2008 to 2012. He was Chair of the Electrochemical Materials Science Division of the International Society of Electrochemistry. He is currently Chair of the EFC Working Party on Surface Science and Mechanisms of Corrosion and Protection, Chair of the International Steering Committee for the European Conferences on Applications of Surface and Interface Analysis, Head of the Paris Office of the European Federation of Corrosion, Head of the Europe section of the Electrochemical Society and President of the French Corrosion Society (CEFRACOR).

Voir aussi dans «Équipe PCS»

Publications Research Topics Team members